Golden Globes 2013 – Red Carpet Highlights

HIGHLIGHTS FROM 2013 GOLDEN GLOBE AWARDS‘ RED CARPET

Wow! What a show! I just went through some of the highlights and laughed all over again at hosts Tina Fey and Amy Poehler, who nailed it, cheered for the winners, and boohoo’ed all over again at Cecil B. DeMille honoree Jodie Foster’s AMAZING speech. I don’t want to bring politics or gossip into this, but I can’t help it here… I’ve been a fan of hers since I was a little girl and she’s always been the vision of strength and steel while remaining beautiful and feminine, and her composure and intelligence on and OFF the red carpet have always shined through. Last night was no different. I am now even more enamored with her and applaud her candor and courage to say exactly what she said with humor and grace. And she’s FIFTY! FIFTY YEARS OLD! Excellent reference, Jodie. I adore you! So I’ll go ahead and start with her Giorgio Armani dress which, I’ll admit, wasn’t a favorite, but it beautiful and suited her well. It definitely helped her sparkle and shine that much more for her special night. Congrats!

jodie foster giorgio armani 2013 GG

Cecil B. DeMille Honoree Jodie Foster in Giorgio Armani @ 2013 Golden Globe Awards

******

I can’t think of any other way to list these since I’m useless at decisions about dresses, so I’ll list alphabetically by actress. Here goes…

1) Amy Adams in Marchesa – Nothing really sticks out about this dress, but I do love the cut and even the nude/neutral color. The mermaid was rather dramatic, but she wore it well and looked lovely in it.

amy adams marchesa 2013 GG

Amy Adams in Marchesa @ 2013 Golden Globe Awards

******

2) Anne Hathaway in Chanel Couture – Not sure about white on the red carpet. It’s a little too bridal, for me… but this two-piece Chanel dress is gorgeous and she, of course, wore it well.

anne hathaway chanel couture 2013 GG

Anne Hathaway in Chanel Couture @ 2013 Golden Globe Awards

******

3) Claire Danes in Versace – This dress didn’t really do anything for me, but I have to give the girl mad props for looking amazing after having a baby only a month ago. I heard she went upstairs and fed bambino two or three times during the show. As a mom, I salute thee, Claire.

claire danes versace 2013 GG

Claire Danes in Versace @ 2013 Golden Globe Awards

******

4) Connie Britton in KaufmanFranco – I haven’t seen Nashville yet, but she kicked ass in American Horror Story last season! I do really like this dress even though t’s been done before and will be done again. It’s a good go-to dress and she looks fabulous.

connie britton kaufmanfranco 2013 GG

Connie Britton in KaufmanFranco @ 2013 Golden Globe Awards

******

5) Emily Blunt in Michael Kors – Hmmm… I wasn’t sure about this dress at first, but it grew on me a little. I like the Far East influence and the cut-outs, but I’m not really digging the color. Maybe it’s better in person. All is forgiven, however, as she is one of my favorite actresses and looks beautiful on the red carpet.

emily blunt michael kors 2013 GG

Emily Blunt in Michael Kors @ 2013 Golden Globe Awards

******

6) Jennifer Garner in Vivienne Westwood – I don’t think this woman has failed at any red carpet event… at least not in recent memory. She looks gorgeous in anything, but I’m loving the deep, blood-red color with her skin tone and brunette locks, as well as the embellished patterns along the length of the dress.

jennifer garner vivienne westwood 2013 GG

Jennifer Garner in Vivienne Westwood @ 2013 Golden Globe Awards

******

7) Jessica Alba in Christian Dior – Coral is turning out to be quite the popular color this season and, I must say, I don’t hate it. She looks beautiful, as usual, but can we please talk about how fabulous that clutch is!

jesica alba dior 2013 GG

Jessica Alba in Dior @ 2013 Golden Globe Awards

******

8) Julianne Hough in Monique Lhuillier – Puffs and sparkles abound here. I saw several comments about this being a mess of a dress, but I don’t think it is – there’s really not that much going on to make it as dizzy as people are saying. The gradual fade of the embellishments along the bodice into the skirt are just right and the princess poof isn’t out of control. Had there been gold appliqués all over, it would have been too much, but this is quite nice and I didn’t see anything else like it on the red carpet.

julianne hough monique lhuillier 2013 GG

Julianne Hough in Monique Lhuillier @ 2013 Golden Globe Awards

******

9) Kaley Cuoco in Zuhair Murad – This is another dress that caught some guff. Not sure why, though. It really is a gorgeous dress. Perhaps the dark lips threw people off? Doesn’t work for me. Perhaps the lack of “showiness” on the red carpet? She does have a rather casual demeanor for such a beautiful gown on a red carpet. I would think the off-the-shoulder appearance, excellent cleavage, and sequined pattern would make one feel beautiful enough to flaunt. I’ll forgive her – she has been a busy little bee this week.

kaley cuoco zuhair murad 2013 GG

Kaley Cuoco in Zuhair Murad @ 2013 Golden Globe Awards

  ******

10) Katherine McPhee in Theyskens Theory – Yowza! Now here’s an excellent cleavage dress. This dress was HOT and had tongues wagging and tons of eyes watching out for the accidental boob slip juuuussst in case, but I’m sure she had enough sticky tape to trap a cat in there. I think this was the first dress I saw for the night and I was instantly obsessed. The slit was great, as were the shoes… except for the clear strap along the toes. Sorry, but these shoes would have been 100% awesome had that strap been black. Would have sealed the shoe deal and really completed the look. Just saying…

katherine mcphee theyskens theory 2013 GG

Katherine McPhee in Theyskens Theory @ 2013 Golden Globe Awards

******

There are at least 10 more dresses I want to highlight here, but I’ll take a break for now and continue with the rest later today. I’m sure most of you have already seen most of these anyway and here I am adding my silly two cents…

More to come!

This entry was published on January 14, 2013 at 12:03 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

